Could iCarly hold the Secret to College Admissions?


For those of you who haven’t gotten the chance to read my bio, I’m a dad. For parents like me, the opportunity to humiliate our kids is one of the greatest joys that we can experience. Through the miracle of technology, I can do so on a vastly wider scale than was possible for my parents. For instance, my eight year old son loves the show iCarly. Apparently, this is a huge secret that could permanently destroy his street “cred” if it were ever to be accidentally revealed. Consequently he feigns disinterest when our friends’ daughters insist on watching the show.

Pretending interest/disinterest, it turns out, is an important talent well beyond your elementary years. While it’s unlikely to impact your popularity in high school, the level of interest you show in a college or university has a surprising impact on admissions decisions. Surveys from the National Association for Admissions Counselling (motto – “We’re a pretty big deal even though you’ve never head of us”) show that “demonstrated interest” is an increasingly important factor in the admissions process. That means that colleges and universities, especially the most competitive ones, will look at how many times you visit, call, email, and tweet about your unmatched desire to attend their precious institutions. They will also look at how early you apply, as well as whether you bother to mention in your essay that you believe your life (and possibly existence as you know it) may come to an end (or at least be shattered in some way) if you are not admitted to their school.

This often leads to madcap situations worthy of a reality show where students attempt to show their passion for institutions. Many end up rapidly crossing that thin line from, “I’m really interested,” to, “I’m a crazy stalker.”

Much like being an iCarly fan, however, there is a dark side to demonstrated interest. Many of those schools that make the most use of demonstrated interest in admissions decisions, use it in exactly the opposite way when awarding financial aid and scholarships. In other words, if the school thinks you want to go there badly enough, then they assume you’ll still come even if they give you less money.

Fortunately, we don’t play those games at Mason. You can feel free to shamelessly admit that we are the best school EVER and that your life will only be complete if you attend. Yeah, I get that a lot.

In the end, my advice is that it’s probably best to just be honest. Speaking of honesty, my son has asked me to formally announce that he does NOT like iCarly and that I was really referring to his friend Logan from across the street…no, really. I don’t watch either. Although Sam is hilarious.

Be seeing you.

One Response

  1. This doesn’t really pertain to this post but…

    I am a rising High School sophmore, and I’ve been visiting colleges with my brother (not GMU though, my brother is not interested apparently) and I’ve heard a lot about “rigor.” I go to a place called the Fine Arts Center for two periods and the scheduling causes me to lose a class. Foreign language and history wouldn’t work out schedule-wise because of this so I only have 3 academic classes, and junior and senior year I may have 4. The classes themselves are very advanced (Pre-calc honors, english 3 honors, and biology honors [I took Spanish 3 honors last year]) and I’m only a rising sophomore, but I feel that this seems bad. My main explanation is that the Fine Arts Center is very challenging (my teacher created the jazz music program at the University of Southern California) and I want to go to school for music and business (dual major or minor and major) so it is helping my future job/major. Is this a problem, and if so is there some way to explain it to colleges once I start applying?

    Thank you,

    Jacob Jones

    P.S. I hope to have straight A’s or very few B’s so hopefully the grades themselves should be good.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

