deadlines, file reading, and web sites, oh my!


Sorry to be gone for such an extended absence. My only excuse is the INCREDIBLE volume of applications Mason is receiving which has me buried. A few things I noticed as I read:

1) Despite my best advice, very embarrassing email addresses continue to be in evidence. And yes, we pass them around the office. We have a contest for he most offensive, funniest, most humiliating, etc. Unfortunately, since these are actual applicants and real addresses, I can’t post them. Seriously, what are they thinking?

2) Grade inflation is still funny too. One of my staff members brought in a high school profile from Texas. The school says their GPA’s are on a 4.0 scale. They have about 150 students in their International Baccalaureate program, and all of the top 15 have GPA’s above a 7.0 – yes that would be a SEVEN on a FOUR point scale. NO ONE in the program has below a 5.0. What a deal!

3) Even though I encourage timely submission of applciations, deadline crashing is rampant – and I do mean crashing. We sent out a mass voice mail encouraging those who hadn’t submitted yet, and got so many folks trying to apply that it overloaded the server. Since we were down for a bit I decided to extend the deadline for one day, which I’m sure will have the staff throwing darts at my picture for months (not that they weren’t already, but it’s good to have a new excuse for their hobby). So now, for the few of you still contemplating where to apply, you have until WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 16 to get your application submitted. If you miss it, don’t come whining to me.

4) I got a good question on financial aid/scholarships for international students and for transfer students. The blog has mostly been focused on U.S. studens applying as freshmen, but since Mason has one of the largest international populations in the states, and since we’re more successful with transfer students than almost any other institution, I guess we’ll need to add some new material. I promise to try to be more diligent and to get to those topics.

This post is sounding more like a shameless plug than my usual advice – oh well, what do you expect for free? To all of you still applying (even if, for some strange reason, to schools other than Mason) all my best wishes for great success. As long as you end up choosing Mason. Be seeing you.

2 Responses

  1. There must be a bunch of applications to look over if the only time you have to write your blog is at 3:30 in the morning. Get some sleep man, I think you need it.

  2. Who can sleep with all these files calling my name. Yes, they speak to me. Especially at 3:30 in the morning.

Leave a Reply

