College admissions reality: stress and parents


Interesting article from the Dean of Admissions at Cooper Union http://www.insidehighered.com/views/2008/01/18/lipton.  As some of the comments note, I think that admissions officers have to accept most of the blame for a process and marketing that creates most of the stress in this process.  I’m also not a fan of the whole “helicopter parent” tag, which doesn’t seem to me to be all that different than in the past few years if you factor out the ease of ongoing contact via mobile phones and texting.  I’d write more, but I just got elected PTA president of my son’s elementary school where he’s in kindergarten, and I need to go talk to the principal about making sure my son is getting enough good performance stickers to accurrately reflect his obvious brilliance.  Be seeing you.

 . 

2 Responses

  1. You were the only one who wanted the job !! Since you are young at the game of raising kids…..don’t be too sure you can insure adequate sticker distribution. As an older parent, I can assure you it will all work out. There are many folks who have agendas that will not include what appear to be your sons best interest. At the end of the day, you will thank all the people who cut his little legs out from under him. If it walks like a duck, and talks like a duck………..

  2. My two boys are graduating college in May. Neither of them know what they want to do. Found this book yesterday. I’m hoping it will spur them on. “You Have A College Degree, Now What?” http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0578044048/ref=cm_sw_r_fa_dp

Leave a Reply

