Funny (well, kinda sad) stuff on applications and admission


In the past week:

The essay that explained all the reasons the student wanted to go…to William and Mary. Where, I hope, he will be very happy.

Our application asks whether the applicant has ever been convicted of a felony. One student said yes, but didn’t provide the required explanation. When we contacted him to follow up, it turns out he was actually just pulled over for speeding. He got a warning. Not quite a felony…

The applicant that sent in an appeal of her decision – BEFORE we made the decision!

Three parents calling to complain about all the trouble they had filing out the application – not their son or daughter, mind you – their offspring were far too busy to fill out the applications themselves.

Like most schools, this time of year we are deep in the thick of the process. We’ll have a large number of students who are on the bubble for decisions, and we’ll spend hours deciding which ones to accept, which to offer waitlist, and which will unfortunately be denied. A big part of the process is trying to determine which of our admitted students will end up enrolling so we can be sure we have the right sized class, so while students and parents try to predict our behavior, we’re also trying to predict yours. We’re also making scholarship and honors program awards. Of course, we also have Homecoming next weekend, and we’ve started sending those same admissions counselors that have to read your applications out on the road to attend the spring college fairs.

But soon the letters and awards will be out, the appeals will be reviewed, and then the real work begins – you have to pick which of the many many schools that admitted you to choose – your chance to make US sweat. So we’ll write you, email you, IM you, facebook and myspace you – we may even quarterlife, secondlife, or World of Warcraft you. If you thought it was annoying when we were getting you to apply, just wait until you see what we do trying get you to commit! Be seeing you – a lot!

5 Responses

  1. Just wanted to let you know how much I’m enjoying your blog entries! They’ve been very helpful, and, yes, in case you were wondering, I have laughed at your jokes.

    Also, I’m sorry to have made you sweat like this…but it may make you rest easier to know I’ve narrowed my choices to two–and Mason is currently number one.

    Keep up the great blog!

  2. Many thanks, and very glad to hear Mason is ahead in your decision.Not that there are any wrong choices for college – just that the choice to go to Mason is likely a little more right!

  3. Upon reading about Mason (how this email got into my junk mail I have no idea), but interested in returning to school after 26 years of being an RN, I opened the ad. here.

    It appears that you do likely do not have a target on middle age women wanting further education and a career change.

    Maybe you somehow had information about my 15 year old son?

    He’s headed ( I think ) in the direction of science and math.

    Just curious, as it is me who is desiring a degree in communications, journalism, writing, political science and switch careers become more educationally prepared to write and be paid for my skills and ideas. I have been right about so many decisions and strategies with a keen talent for discerning the right and wrong decisions. My career was not of my choosing though working as an RN is rewarding. But its time to go for my dream, the one I had in mind but was not encouraged nor open to me when I was in college.

    I would like to have a real venue for my voice and judgement. Self taught and staying well read and informed. I am able to make a strong case to support an opinion, idea, or suggestion. Volunteering is good but to have a paid position and be employed / paid to give my voice and ideas as a democrat is what I wish. My work would at long last blend with passion and retirement would not be a goal.

    A university or college where adult education is encouraged and included is what I am seeking. Education is never over in life for the curious and passionate.

    Wanted to comment. I believe adult students in colleges and universities would add to the discussions taught in classrooms.

    Elizabeth Krage RN, single mom

    • Hi Elizabeth! I have been trying to get in contact with you. I met you in Idaho Falls. I hope to hear from you someday.

      Stephen

  4. You are exactly right. With our D.C. area location, Mason has a large number of working adults and career switchers at the graduate and undergraduate level. It is one of the areas where we have been a national leader.

    More importantly, there is no bad time in ones life to return to college, and there are really great reasons for doing so when your son or daughter is also starting in college – namely that you increase your chances of qualifying for financial aid with multiple family members planning to enroll!

Leave a Reply

