Shameless Plug – Founder of AOL at graduation


One of the best parts of my job is seeing students I recruited go through graduation (plus I get to wear those robes that make me, according to my seven-year-old son, look like I’m in Harry Potter). It’s especially nice when the graduation speaker is entertaining. Yesterday Steve Case, founder of American Online and former CEO of AOL/Time Warner was the speaker. This is a guy who started telling people that intereactive media and user generated content would be a dominate factor in media when most people didn’t even have a PC! I hope to get him next year as the lead off speaker for the Washington Journalism and Media Conference. It doesn’t hurt prospects for him as a speaker that his former and current companies are based right down the street and that he LOVES Mason – clearly a visionary with taste.

Leave a Reply

